Branches of the Critical Care Society of Southern Africa

There are 6 branches of CCSSA representing the 9 provinces of South Africa. All branches are run purely by volunteering medical professionals. The web presence of these branches varies on this site depending on the size and activity of the branches. Links to individual branches are below.

Object of the Branches

The roles of the branches shall be to promote, support and extend the objectives of the Critical Care Society within the defined area, and more particularly:

  • To promote the philosophy and practice of Critical Care Medicine by organising scientific meetings and discussions in the area, and by assistance with scientific publications in the official journal of the Critical Care Society;
  • To correlated the local interests of the Critical Care Society members and promote contact between the teaching institutions in the area and those members in private practice to the benefit of the members and their patients;
  • To represent and further the interests of the members of the Branch with local representatives of hospitals, government and other public and private bodies;
  • To assist specifically with the travelling and accommodation arrangements of the official guests of the Critical Care Society during their visits to the area;
  • To organize, as requested from time to time by the Critical Care Society Council, national or international meetings on behalf of the society;
  • To recruit members to the Critical Care Society of Southern Africa

Eastern Cape

East London:

Sr Des Cox
Sr Beverley Bell

Port Elizabeth

Dr Debbie Baker

Chairperson:Dr Kuban Naidoo
Secretary:Ms Lizl Veldsman
Treasurer:Prof Elzabe Nel

Other committee members:

Dr Brian Levy
Dr Kuban Naidoo
Ms Helen Perrie
Ms Juan Scribante
Dr Ahmad Alli
Dr Stefan Bolon
Dr Shahed Omar
Dr Ismail Kalla
Free State
Chairperson:Dr Maryke Spruyt
Vice-chair:Dr Jeanne Nel
Secretary:Belinda Karstens
Treasurer: Dr Hendri Steyn

Other committee members

Dr. Thea vd Heever
Sr Maseutlwadi Banda
Sr Pheyona Briekwa
Sr Belinda Karstens
Sr Cherene Beukes
Sr Maryke Woest
Mr Johan Perkens
Ms Ilsabé Spoelstra
Ms Karen Swanepoel
Ms Estelle Peens
Western Cape
Chairperson: Malcolm Miller
Vice-chairperson:Alison Lupton-Smith
Secretary: Ellen le Roux
Treasurer:Prof. Ivan Joubert,Head of Critical Care GSH, CCSSA Council Member
Additional Members:Dr David Thomson & Ms Alison Lupton-Smith

Other committee members:

Ms Heide Kunzman
Mr Grant Strathie
Dr Malcolm Miller
Dr LC Marais

Ex-officio members:

Prof. Lance MichellCCSSA Council Member
Prof. Andrew Argent RXH - HOD - Paediatric ICU CCSSA Council Member
Dr. Noor Parker TBH - HOD Paediatric ICU
Dr Jenna Piercy
Dr Nadiya Ahmed
Chairperson:Prof Akhter Goolam Mohammed
Secretary:Sr Mirriam Wiid
Treasurer:Dr Mammie Motiang

Other committee members:

Sr Norman Matlala
Sr Lucy Dolo
Sr Junior Morok

Administrative secretary:

Yolande Schonfeld
Chairperson:Dr Robert Wise
Secretary:Kim De Vasconcellos
National Council Representative:Dr Dean Gopalan
Nursing representative:Cheryl Carter
Past Chairpersons: Dr Nicky Kalafatis
Prof Dave Muckart